IN FLAMES announce new studio album, release two singles

Written by Jovan Ristić

Legendary Swedish melodic heavyweights IN FLAMES are thrilled to announce their thirteenth studio album, titled, “I, The Mask” due March 1, 2019 via Nuclear Blast (worldwide, excl. North America) and Eleven Seven Music (North America). Pre-orders for the album will begin January 11 offering ‘I Am Above’ and ‘(This Is Our) House’ as instant downloads.

The 12-track album reunites them with Grammy-nominated producer Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, Motörhead ) who also produced 2016’s “Battles”. Additionally, the album was mixed by Grammy award winner Chris Lord-Alge (Cheap Trick, Linkin Park) and mastered by Grammy mastering engineer, Ted Jensen (Pantera, Guns N’ Roses).

The album artwork is created by artist Blake Armstrong and depicts a unique interpretation of the band’s mascot, The Jesterhead. The story of the cover will be revealed via the full album artwork on March 1st, which coincides with each song on the album.


“I, The Mask” tracklist:

01. Voices
02. I, The Mask
03. Call My Name
04. I Am Above
05. Follow Me 
06. (This is Our) House
07. We Will Remember
08. In This Life
09. Burn
10. Deep Inside
11. All The Pain
12. Stay With Me

“This album is really a special one to us. Since our last record, ‘Battles’, we’ve established our own annual festival in Sweden and have been touring non-stop worldwide, creating an even stronger bond with our fans. You could say it was a big part of our inspiration for this album. It’s been such a long journey that just keeps going and growing; We feel extremely thankful for that, and for the support that makes it possible. We dedicate our 13th album, “I, The Mask” to our fans who allow us to keep making music and playing it every night. IN JESTERHEADS WE TRUST.”

IN FLAMES are also proud to debut two killer tracks from “I, The Mask” – the superlative anthems ‘I Am Above’ and ‘(This Is Our) House.’  A poignant video for ‘I Am Above’ has also been revealed, which features famous Swedish actor Martin Wallström (Mr. Robot). The video takes place in a pitch black room with Martin who eerily lip syncs the metal ballad with expressive facial gestures that capture the song’s emotion. Meanwhile, the lyric video for track ‘(This Is Our) House’ features unseen footage from the band’s first annual Swedish festival, Borgholm Brinner (Borgholm Is Burning).