SEVENDUST – “All I See Is War” (2018)

Written by Marko Ristić

“All I See Is War”
Alternative metal
Rise Records (2018)

They did not turn away from the road that was seriously based on the beginning of the career so that at any moment you know that this is the Sevendust.

SEVENDUST is one of those bands I’ve always enjoyed with each new album. They used to surprise me, sometimes disappoint me, but never left me indifferent, which is essentially the most important thing.

Over the course of their 21-year-long career, Sevendust has done everything. From a demo band to a Grammy-nominated one. They were characterized as a nu-metal band, and later as a melodic aggro rock. The nonsense of the genre divisions took a moss. But it did not prevent them from making an album to fight their own demons every time.

Lyon Witherspoon and the team brought “Seasons” which came out in 2003, and since then I’ve been following their career closely. Already after first listening to the new album, I can tell you everything is in place. Just the way Sevendust used to do it.

Extremely emotional tracks delivered by the most dynamic voice I heard in this genre, along with excellent guitar parts and a very precise rhythm section. They are able to create a song that will easily find its place on the radio, but it will surely provide pleasure to all fans of their furious sound. And this is perhaps the most important thing with this band.

The “All I See Is War” is predominantly a mid-tempo track, and this is something that might distract you from re-listening. But when you look a bit better on the discography of this band, we are accustomed to it. But there are “Truth”, “Risen” and “Dirty” not to spoil the impression of how much this band can handle.

The twelfth studio album “All I See Is War” has again managed to delight me. They did not turn away from the road that was seriously based at the beginning of the career, so you will know at any time that this is Sevendust. “All I See Is War” is a good record, which comes as a logical continuation of their last album “Kill The Flaw”.


01. Dirty
02. God Bites His Tongue
03. Medicated
04. Unforgiven
05. Sickness
06. Cheers
07. Risen
08. Moments
09. Not Original
10. Descend
11. Life Deceives You
12. The Truth

About the author

Marko Ristić