AT THE GATES: EPK For “To Drink From The Night Itself” Album

Written by Marko Ristić

An EPK (Electronic Press Kit) for “To Drink From The Night Itself”, the upcoming album from Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES, can be seen below. The disc will be released on May 18 via Century Media. Produced with Russ Russell (NAPALM DEATHTHE HAUNTEDDIMMU BORGIR) at Parlour Studios in the U.K., the follow-up 2014’s “At War With Reality” features conceptual artwork created by Costin Chioreanu of Twilight 13 Media, who previously worked with AT THE GATES on the band’s last disc.

“To Drink From The Night Itself” track listing:

01. Der Widerstand 
02. To Drink From The Night Itself 
03. A Stare Bound In Stone 
04. Palace Of Lepers 
05. Daggers Of Black Haze 
06. The Chasm 
07. In Nameless Sleep 
08. The Colours Of The Beast 
09. A Labyrinth Of Tombs 
10. Seas Of Starvation 
11. In Death They Shall Burn 
12. The Mirror Black

Singer Tomas Lindberg recently spoke to Decibel magazine about how the departure of longtime AT THE GATES guitarist and primary songwriter Anders Björler has affected the band’s sound. “It is true that there is a big shift in the lineup,” he said. “What you have to take into consideration is that Jonas Björler [bass] wrote 40 percent of both ‘Slaughter Of The Soul’ and ‘At War With Reality’. Some people seem to forget this. They just assume that the lead guitarist is the sole songwriter. Jonas had to take a lot more responsibility this time around, but me and him have had a really great and creative time writing this album. There is a slight change of direction, maybe, but AT THE GATES fans shouldn’t be worried — it is still an AT THE GATES record. If anything, it is heavier and more death metal than the last one.”

Lindberg said that new AT THE GATES guitarist Jonas Stålhammar came into the band too late to be involved in the composing process for the new disc. “This one is basically Jonas[Björler] and me when it comes to the writing. All the guys have contributed in some way, but the main writing comes from Jonas and me. Most of the songs were already in the finishing stages when Jonas Stålhammar joined, so there wasn’t much time for him to contribute, but we look forward to having him more involved next time around. Saying that, his solos will, of course, be written by himself.”